Skip to content

Summer sun full of plastic-free fun!

June 28, 2010

Dear fellow pebbles,
I would like to begin by introducing myself, Amelia, the new summer Eco-Intern for Pebble in the Pond. I am so pleased to have been given the opportunity to spend my summer battling the extensive use of plastic that pollutes our beautiful Earth all while enjoying the sunshine, the great outdoors, and of course other fellow pebbles! What more could you ask for? A fun office, warm weather and I can aid my favorite cause at the same time!

After a tireless weekend of cleaning and organizing I would like to invite all of you to the new summer office for Pebble in the Pond located right next store to Taws Cycle and Sports Store on Marine Avenue. Come on in check out the new space, and of course meet me! I would love to meet all of you, talk with you about some of our upcoming summer projects, and hear any of your exciting ideas.

First on our agenda is the BC Bike Race in Powell River this Tuesday. We are excited to welcome all of the participants to town and look forward to seeing their sustainable practices and how they manage plastic use! Look forward to a blog filled with photos, facts, and their practices on waste management for the race this Wednesday. Other highlights to look forward to this summer are booths at the markets with smoothies, and newspaper bags to take your goodies home in as well, look for us at all the upcoming festivals like Sea-Fair and Black Berry Fest! And of course a detailed blog of all the adventures I encounter this summer. While I can hardly wait to begin this summer filled with lots of fun but just remember let’s make it plastic-free!

Blog soon,

Amelia Pond

On a side note – On the new Doctor Who series there is a character with the name Amelia and can anyone guess her last name!? Yes it’s Pond and how incredibly fitting – hence I have given myself the summer alter-ego Amelia Pond.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. caroleannie13 permalink
    June 29, 2010 2:50 am

    Welcome Amelia Pond! I love it! LOL
    I look forward to all your upcoming upbeat posts!
    This is only the beginning….. πŸ˜€

  2. June 29, 2010 6:02 pm

    I really look forward to seeing the new office and visiting you there – sounds like we need an Open House! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

