Skip to content

Apple Blossoms and Silly Snails

February 15, 2010

This post was generously offered by New Brunswick blogger Carrielyn Applebee.  You can read her blog at: Apple Blossoms and Silly Snails Creative Living through Art, Cooking, Mindful Parenting, Family and Philosophy

BIO: I’m a stay at home Mom of two children living outside of Moncton, New Brunswick.  My goal as a parent to raise my children to respect people, the environment and themselves.  I run a small dental staffing business from my home and I’ve just started a blog (Apple Blossoms and Silly Snails) with my friend Anne who is in Calgary.  As my hobbies generally take me outdoors, I try to do the best I can to minimize my impact on the environment.

One Small Step – Who knew it could cause so much trouble….

I’ll admit I haven’t always been the best at watching my Eco footprint.  I threw away garbage with wild abandon and thought nothing of it, but in the last few years two things happened;  1.  We moved to an area where recycling was mandatory.  If you don’t sort your garbage your garbage stays with you.  (Which now personally I think is the way to go) and 2. I had children.

So when I go to the grocery store I bring my reusable bags and I am making reusable produce bags but I don’t have any ready yet and I still wanted to do something – so, where else do you get plastic bags in the grocery store? – the deli.

Instead of going to the deli empty handed, I brought this….

and yes the thought did occur to me that I was exchanging plastic for plastic but I knew that this bucket would be washed and used again instead of rinsing out the deli bag and throwing it in the recycling bag.  So off I went with kids in tow thinking I am so smart, the store is going to be so impressed with my idea that they will immediately adopt the program and I will become a hero.  (Okay, I didn’t really think I was going to be a hero)

I got to the deli, made my order and simply said “Instead of putting it in a bag please put the ham in here”.  The deli maiden (for lack of a better term) looked at me funny and went about her business.  She weighed and measured my desired amount and then went to put it in a bag.  I reminded her of my small bucket and she refused stating that the meat had to be sealed.  Of course we all know that sealing it means only that they fold the bag over and put the sticker on.  Needless to say we got into a debate with me ending up saying that she can put the ham in the bucket or she can put the ham back in her case.  I’m a very nice person but I can turn it on and for goodness sake I’m saving the environment!!  I’m happy to report that the ham went into the bucket and the sticker was very carefully placed to keep the ham within the confines of it’s synthetic prison and I thought that would be the end of the story.

As I walked away, two women followed me who had just witnessed the event, naturally on my side they were so upset that I had been given such a hard time that one of them had a manager come over and explain to him that it is essential that we stop using these plastic bags and why would his staff be making such a big deal of one person trying to do their part.  I watched trying to shrink into the background wondering how my small step could cause such a big wave.  My Sister Judi would say one Pebble in the pond can make a large ripple in the water and I am happy that I threw that pebble into the pond today because I know I made an impact on at least two people today and those two ripples may create a big wave of change.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 8:18 pm

    Very interesting blog Carrie.

Leave a Reply

